Uptown Life

Rainy Day Projects

Like the rest of Cincinnati, yucky weather often traps us Uptowners indoors. But these are the perfect days to accomplish some of those projects we always say we’re going to do. Like… spiffing up a boring dresser and making a fabulous sangria to enjoy during the weekend!

For months I have been trying to come up with ideas on how to jazz up this wooden dresser in our son’s room. It is in great shape but its nothing to write home about, if you know what I mean.

There she is in all her glory.

After seeing a fabulous idea on Rockstar Diaries blog, I finally found myself with a few free hours and some ambition! I ran up to Ace Hardware on Ludlow, asked a million questions, and walked out with all the necessities for redoing a dresser.

Stain remover, gloves, a scraper tool, and autumn orange paint!

After removing everything from the dresser and carrying it outside, this handy dandy uptowner was ready to get starter. I apologize I did not take a photo of the staining process and scraping process. It was not pretty, to say the least. The stain burnt my skin a few times and the scraper made the worst nails-on-a-chalkboard sound. Warning: if you have never attempted home repair or any time of restoration, it is harder than the hardware store people lead you to believe. After about an hour, it was paintin’ time!

I’m not sure if it was the autumn season affecting me, but orange just seemed perfect!

While the paint was drying, I made my way over to Riddle Road Market. This place is probably the cheapest place for beer and wine in Uptown with the best selection. Since I am heading to a girls night this evening, I figured I would make a very girly sangria. I picked up Pink Moscato, Riesling, Cranberry Juice, and Mike’s Hard Cranberry Lemonade. After mixing all of these ingredients, I added lime juice, sliced oranges, diced mangos, a bit of tequila, and a homemade simple syrup to create Pink Sangria!

Super girly, right?

By now it was time to put the finishing touches on the dresser. Similar to the inspired dresser seen on the blog, I added eclectic knobs we had in storage for a fun twist.

Not too shabby for a beginner level project!

I know this probably isn’t as amazing as other Pinterest related project you’ve seen, but for a clumsy gal like me, trying to brighten up a kids room, this was a great simple, cheap, and easy project. The glass of sangria added some fun to the process as well.

See you soon!

What did you do to get the most out of your rainy day?

This entry was published on October 26, 2012 at 9:03 pm and is filed under Having Fun. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

