Uptown Life

Off To Gabriel’s Place We Go

On a Sunday morning, one of my favorite things to do is head down to Findlay Market for some amazing crepes and grocery shopping. But this week, I decided to venture out to Avondale to a newer market called Gabriel’s Place. I’ve heard some amazing things about this place. They have community gardens, cooking lessons, and everything they sell is grown on the property. I had even heard something about a fish farm (whatever that supposedly looked like). From what I gathered, Gabriel’s Place was started as a way to begin educating the urban population in Uptown about healthier and more sustainable food practices. After what I saw, it looks like they are succeeding beyond expectation.

The minute I walked up to the produce stands, a delightful older woman who looked like she could teach me a thing or two about gardening, asked if I’d like to go on a tour. First, we checked out the gardens.

Next, I just had to see where these fish are being farmed and what that even means.

The fish are on the bottom level. Sorry it is hard to see!

In a few months all you Uptowners can come and snag some Bluegill!

Afterwards we strolled through the greenhouse and then on to the kitchen, where there is a weekly soup kitchen and cooking classes for all ages. Finally, it was time to get some yummy organic veggies and fruits to take home!

I got some kale too, then left it on the table before I went home. Don’t you hate it when that happens! Ugh…

So this Thursday, don’t think twice. If you love supporting local non profits and you like amazing homegrown food, head over to Gabriel’s Place at 3618 Reading Road from 4pm-6pm.

See you there!

This entry was published on September 5, 2012 at 5:33 pm and is filed under Food & Drinks. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

